Red Carpet of 9th LUX Style Awards

Defined by superlatives, the awards ceremony of the 9th Lux Style Awards took place with the customary pomp and glamour in the Crystal Ball Room of the Karachi Marriott HotelCelebrities, socialites and the best in the field of music, movies, television and fashion were in audience to celebrate the colours and allure of performing arts in Pakistan.

Organised and managed by Catwalk Productions the proceedings began with the National Anthem. That was the only sober moment of a highly charged evening as the host, comedian Sami Shah started off by taking broad swipes at everything from the Fashion Week councils, to controversies, to leading personalities and even the Lux Style Awards itself!
This year’s LSA was along the lines of the Golden Globes, a seated dinner format and devoid of performances, unlike the awards ceremonies of previous years.  Twenty-four winners in four industries’ were honoured for their excellence and then were felicitated by the crème de la crème.  Three winners from the category of Film, 8 from the categories of Television, 4 winners from the category of Music and 9 high achievers from the category of Fashion were honoured for their achievements in their fields in 2009.
The climax of the Awards show was the Unilever Chairman’s Lifetime Achievement Awards 2010 which was presented to the stalwart actress of Pakistan film and television, Ms Roohi Bano. The award was presented by Mr Amir Paracha, Marketing Director, Unilever Pakistan. In her poignant and heartfelt acceptance speech, the legendary Roohi, given a thundering standing ovation, acknowledged the tribute from the audience and thanked everyone.
Well before the prize giving started, the main faces of LSA started pouring in. The celebrities list as usual was long. Advisor to the Sindh Chief Minister, Ms. Sharmila Farooqi was in the audience as was the Governor Punjab’s wife Ms. Amna Taseer, music maestro Mr Arshad Mahmood, Fuzon, Rohail Hayat , the best from the world of fashion , Sehyr Saigol,   Amir & Huma Adnan , Maheen Khan, Kamiar Rokni, SanaSafinaz, Deepak Perwani, Nomi Ansari, Shamaeel and all leading photographers, makeup artists, models were  present to honour the achievers of 2010 .
A byword in elegance and haute style, the celebrities dazzled on the red carpet in  a range of eastern and western ensembles . Super model Nadia Hussain donned a Nomi Ansari creation, Ayyan dazzled in a Sonya Battla ensemble. Maria Wasti was stunningly elegant in Kamiar Rokni and Ayesha Omar wore a short flirty Nomi Ansari. Laila wore an Asim Joffa outfit while Rabia Butt turned heads in Sana Safinaz. Sunita Marshall was in an elegant Nomi Ansari and Meera stole the show in a dazzling white embellished with pearls sari by Usman Dittu.
Kiran Aman’s gold and diamond jewellery dressed a number of the beauties in the audience, including the stunning Fayezah Ansari, the best young talent winner Feeha Jamshed and TV host Ayesha Omar. Ali Javeri’s designer jewellery dressed the mesmerising Meera and Sherezad’s sparkling drops and neck pieces were all the rage.
Acclaimed director and producer Syed Noor was at hand to receive the award for the Best Film, Nach Kay Yaar Manana with Best Film Actor /Actress awards for Shaan and Saima.
Momina Duraid took the award for the Best TV Serial (Satellite) for a play she had written and produced, Ishq Junoon Deewangi on Hum TV. The TV show also brought in the Best TV Actor (Satellite) award for Humayun Saeed.
Best TV Actress (Satellite) was won by Sania Saeed for her role in The Ghost, on Hum TV and Sania graciously acknowledged her fellow nominees. She is a third time LSA winner.
In the Fashion category, Fayeza Ansari took home the Model of the Year (Female) while Iffi Zafar was named the Model of the Year (Male).
Best Emerging Talent (0-3 years) was awarded to the designer Feeha Jamshed while the Best Fashion Photographer went to Guddu Shaani.
Rizwana Khan was named the Best Hair and Makeup Artist while the award for Achievement in Fashion Design – Pret went to the versatile Deepak Perwani for his 1st Fashion Pakistan week collection. Everyone’s favourite Sana Safinaz took home the Achievement in Fashion Design – Luxury Pret award.
Best Retail Brand went to Generation while HSY took home the Best Menswear Designer. HSY could not make it to the show, so he accepted it via satellite whilst in New York.
The Lifetime Achievement Award in Fashion went to the industry’s pioneering photographer Mirza Khurshid Masood who got a standing ovation for his 40 year old contribution to the local fashion industry.
In the TV (Terrestrial) category, the Best TV Serial (Terrestrial) went to Khawar Azhar for his work for Islamabad stations Khuda Zameen Say Gaya Nahin on PTV. The show also took the Best TV Writer (All Channels) by Asghar Nadeem Syed.
Best TV Actor (Terrestrial) went to Noman Ijaz for Kaghaz Kay Nao on ATV while the Best TV Actress (Terrestrial) went to Maira Khan for Jee Chahta Hai on ATV. Mehreen Jabbar took home the Best TV Director (All Channels) for her brilliant Doraha on Geo TV.
In the Music category, the Best Artist went to Mekaal Hassan Band for Saptak while the Best Music Video Director was picked up by Zeeshan Pervaiz for Waris Shah by the Mekaal Hassan Band.
Singer of the Year was the Mekaal Hassan Band for Chal Buleya from Saptak while the evergreen Rohail Hyat went home with the Best Music Producer for probably what was one of the biggest TV events of the year, the Coke Studio Sessions.
Winners are selected by LSA Jury for Fashion and Music and via Viewer’s Choice votes for Television.

Defined by superlatives, the awards ceremony of the 9th Lux Style Awards took place with the customary pomp and glamour in the Crystal Ball Room of the Karachi Marriott Hotel.

Next Post

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.