K-Electric holds the Pride of Karachi Awards

KE has been an integral part of Karachi for over 100 years serving more than 20 million consumers and employing over 11,000 residents of Karachi. Having completed this milestone, KE is even more committed to working towards the betterment of this glorious city.

Being so deeply engrained in the fabric of Karachi, KE decided to conduct an award ceremony to commemorate the rich history of this city by paying tribute to individuals from all walks of life. These individuals since the inception of Pakistan have made a significant impact on this country, this city, its people and its socio-economic landscape.

According to the KE press release, the award ceremony which was hosted at the Palace which dates back to 1927, was a humble attempt to recognize and honor those individuals who have worked selflessly and passionately for the betterment of this society. Individuals from the fields of Arts & Architecture, Literature, Performing & Visual Arts, Sports & Social Work had been shortlisted and selected by an honorable council.

The council comprised of honorable members such as Mrs. Durriya Kazi, Mr Shahab Ghani Khan, Mr Tariq Qaiser, Dr. Abdul Bari Khan, Mr. Jameel Yusuf, Mr Javed Jabbar, Mr Ghazi Salahuddin, Mr. Asif Farrukhi, Mrs Seema Taher Khan, Mr Arshad Mehmud, Mr Salahuddin Mulla, Mr Chishty Mujahid, Mr Samiullah Khan & Abdul Majid Bhatti.

CEO KE, Mr Nayyer Hussain on this occasion commended the council members and said “Our challenge was to bring together a council that was a true representation of the five categories chosen for the awards. We sought out and enlisted the help of respected members of society who are experts in their respective fields and as such have a better perspective to nominate the individuals who deserve to be recognised through these awards.”

On this occasion chairman KE, Mr Tabish Gauhar said “We are grateful to the honorable members of the council who not only chose the award recipients but also encouraged us in undertaking this noble cause. We need more examples of such people who have embraced and owned our city in the name of hope, peace & development”.

The winners of the ‘KE Pride of Karachi Awards’ have been awarded with a lifetime supply of ‘FREE’ electricity from KE. Winners for the category of Arts, Architecture & Urban Design were Arshad Abdulla, Habib Fida Ali, Marjorie Husain & Shahid Sajjad. Award winners for the field of Social work were Abdul Sattar Edhi, Akhtar Hameed Khan, Dr. Adib Rizvi, Dr.Shershah Syed, Hakeem Muhammad Said, Dr.Nadira Panjwani, Sr.Ruth Lewis, Sr.Dr. Ruth Pfau & Zubeida Dossai. Amar Jaleel, Jaun Elia, Mushtaq Ahmed Yousufi & Zehra Nigah won their respective awards for the field of Literature, whereas Mehdi Hassan, Moin Akhtar, Naseeruddin Saami & Zia Mohyeddin won for the field of Performing & Visual Arts. Anwar Ahmad Khan, Hanif Mohammed, Jahangir Khan & Muhammad Yousuf were awarded for their contribution in the field of Sports.

The Award show was hosted by the multi talented Faizan Haque and the gorgeous Juggun Kazim. The ever green Imran Aslam narrated the story of Karachi in his soothing voice. The award show attended by the most prestigious and high profile social and scholar class of the country including showbiz, literature ,analysts and corporate sector .The show was managed by Catwalk Production & PR was handled by Catalyst PR & Marketing.

K-Electric (KE), formerly known as KESC, on the completion of their 100 year existence conducted the ‘KE Pride of Karachi Awards’ at the historical Mohatta Palace where the honorable Governor Sind Dr. Ishratul Ibad was present as the Chief Guest.

Next Post

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.